Monday, July 5, 2010

Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2010 Award Winners in Alabama-Georgia and Tennessee Announced

/PRNewswire/ -- Ernst & Young LLP is pleased to announce the winners of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® award in the Southeast region. This group of leading entrepreneurs was selected by an independent judging panel made up of regional business, academic and community leaders. The winners were revealed at a gala event on June 24, 2010 at the InterContinental Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia.

"Ernst & Young believes in the power of entrepreneurship," said Joseph A. King, Ernst & Young LLP Entrepreneur of the Year Program Director for Alabama, Georgia and Tennessee. "These Entrepreneur Of The Year award winners have made substantial financial and civic contributions, and we are proud to honor their outstanding success."

The Alabama/Georgia/Tennessee award recipients for the Ernst & Young LLP Entrepreneur Of The Year award in 2010 are:

James A. Haslam, III Pilot Travel Centers LLC Knoxville, Tennessee
Michael F. Mansfield Sr. Mansfield Oil Company Gainesville, Georgia
Michael McMenamin Access Insurance Holdings Atlanta, Georgia
John C. Portman, Jr. Portman Holdings Atlanta, Georgia
David R. White IASIS Healthcare Franklin, Tennessee
Mark Wilson Ryla, Inc. Kennesaw, Georgia
R. Halsey Wise Intergraph Corporation Huntsville, Alabama

The Entrepreneur Of The Year® program honors entrepreneurs regionally in June, leading up to the national awards in November. Additionally, venture-backed companies that win an Entrepreneur Of The Year® award regionally are also eligible for the Venture Capital Award of Excellence on a national level. The overall national US winner then moves on to compete for the World Entrepreneur Of The Year title in June.

This year, the Entrepreneur Of The Year awards program celebrates its 24th anniversary. The program has expanded to recognize business leaders in over 135 cities in 50 countries throughout the world. Awards are given to entrepreneurs who demonstrate extraordinary success in the areas of innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Entrepreneurs are nominated and evaluated by those in each region, including local business, academic and community leaders.

All regional honorees are invited to the national Entrepreneur Of The Year® gala, hosted by Jay Leno, on November 13, 2010 in Palm Springs, California. The gala is the culminating event of the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum®, the nation's most prestigious gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies. For more information on the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum, please visit


Founded and produced by Ernst & Young LLP, the Entrepreneur Of The Year awards are pleased to have the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation and SAP America as national sponsors.

In Alabama, Georgia and Tennessee, the regional sponsors include King & Spalding, SolomonEdwardsGroup and Bowne.

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page
Follow us on Twitter:  @GAFrontPage

No comments: