Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Twenty-two Named to Conference All-Academic Football Team

Twenty-two Shorter College Hawks football players were named to the All-Academic Conference team announced by the Mid-South Conference on Tuesday morning.

Eighty-nine football student-athletes earned academic conference honors from the conference. Shorter placed more athletes on this list than any other school in the MSC and it is the highest number that Shorter football has ever placed on the annual list.

To be honored as a member of the All-Conference Team, student-athletes must be a sophomore, junior or senior and maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.25.

"Since the beginning of the program, we have maintained that academics in the classroom is just as important as the things that happen on the field," said head coach Phil Jones. "I'm proud of these guys for their accomplishments and the influence they bring to this team."

Jackson Abercrombie, Kenneth James, Budd Keith, Zach Morrison, Will Oliver, and Jeremy Ruark have made the team for three consecutive years.

The players named All-Academic were:

Jackson Abercrombie
Bo Bearse
Spenser Bettis
Matt Broome
D.J. Cone
Derik Cooper
Josh Dorminy
Blake Ducatel
David Hall
Kenneth James
Curtis John
Bud Keith
Seth Lindsey
Zach Morrison
Will Oliver
Cameron Panther
Dustin Perry
Jeremy Ruark
Andrew Schrampfer
Will Wiggins
Ben Williams
Jared Williams

Fayette Front Page
Georgia Front Page

No comments: